Communication

Instagram Messenger API - A detailed guide for businesses 

The most important information at a glance: Learn what the Instagram Messaging API is all about and how to use Instagram for customer communication.

Christina Wendt

Messaging expert

27 August, 2021

Conversational Commerce - All information at a glance

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Cautionary Language Concerning Forwad-Looking Statement

Cautionary Language Concerning Forwad-Looking Statement

Instagram is an important marketing and communication channel for businesses. Since June 2021, Instagram's Instagram Messaging API has been available to developers. This makes customer communication via Instagram Direct Messages even more professional and provides businesses with new possibilities.

What is the Instagram API? How do you get access? Why should businesses use Instagram via the API? Here you will find the most important information about Instagram's messaging API.

The most important facts about Instagram

Instagram is a popular social network for sharing photos and videos. The app was developed in 2010 by Kevin Systrom and Mike Krieger. Only two years later, the company was bought by Facebook for around one billion dollars. Over the years, the social network has continued to evolve and user numbers are also steadily increasing. The importance of Instagram is demonstrated by the following figures:

  • More than one billion active monthly Instagram users worldwide
  • Over 500 million people worldwide use Instagram Stories every day
  • At least 200 million businesses use Instagram as a marketing channel

The user figures make it clear that Instagram is an important marketing and communication channel for a large number of companies. There is a good chance that their own target group is also active on Instagram. Generation Y and Z, i.e. consumers aged between 18 and 34, account for more than 60 % of Instagram users.

Instagram plays one of the main roles in the topic of conversational commerce. Conversational commerce bridges the gap between customer support and sales: via digital communication channels, consumers are accompanied throughout the entire customer journey, with the successful conclusion of the purchase as the goal. Instagram is not just for finding inspiration.

The platform is a place for consumers to engage directly with businesses. This makes Instagram an important and attractive channel for conversational commerce. The shopping functions can be used, for example, to link articles on pictures, which take customers directly to the online shop.

Types of Instagram accounts

Personal accounts are for private individuals without the goal of making money. There are two types of accounts on Instagram - personal and professional. Professional accounts are divided into business and creator profiles. 

What is Instagram Business?

Instagram Business is a solution for businesses and has existed since 2014. The Instagram Business account is free and offers more functions than a private Instagram profile. This includes a professional dashboard that provides information about the behaviour of followers and users. In addition, Instagram offers functions for placing paid advertisements or integrating a shop. 

Should businesses use Instagram?

With the potential to reach so many people, Instagram is a valuable platform to get to know your customers, respond to their needs and connect with them. People are spending more and more time online and on social networks. To stay relevant, businesses need to be present on the channels used by their target audience. With the large and diverse number of users, chances are good that your target group is also active on Instagram.

The advantage of an Instagram business is not only the number of people you can reach. Business profiles offer access to a range of professional tools and features that are not available to private accounts.

Reading tip 📣

Here's a reading tip from us: Instagram for business: 10 tips for SMEs

How do I get an Instagram Business Account? 

An Instagram business account is free and can be set up via the profile settings. Via the settings, a private Instagram account can be converted into a business profile with just a few clicks. There, businesses have the option to select the company's industry and add further information such as contact details. 

What is the Instagram API?

The Instagram API for messaging has been open to the public since June 2021. It gives companies the opportunity to make communication with customers even better and more personal. Via the API, WhatsApp can be integrated into messaging platforms such as Superchat. So you don't have to open the Instagram app to reply to messages. Companies can manage Instagram together with other communication channels via a central platform.

Reading tip 📣

Here's a reading tip from us: What is the Instagram Messaging API?

Who can use the Messaging Instagram API? 

All businesses can use the Messenger API for Instagram. Initially, the Instagram API could only be used for accounts between 10,000 and 100,000 followers. However, this limit was lifted in August 2021. The only requirement for using the Messenger API is an Instagram Business Account. 

How do you get access to the Instagram API?

The messaging API is accessible via third-party providers. Via omnichannel communication platforms like Superchat, companies get access to the Instagram API. The advantage is that you can bundle several communication channels in one place. In addition to Instagram, other messengers such as WhatsApp Business or Facebook Messenger can be managed from one platform. 

Features & Benefits of the Instagram Messaging API

With the Instagram API, businesses have more options for communicating with customers. The Instagram API enables businesses to improve the customer journey. Chat building blocks or templates can be used to respond to questions even faster or to react to recurring questions. Common uses:

  • Sending and receiving text, media, stories, etc.
  • Retrieving the conversation history from the Instagram inbox
  • Respond to public comments with chat messages

Advantages of Instagram's messaging API

The biggest advantage is that companies no longer have to look after the channel separately. This is a significant relief for employees. Through the messaging API, Instagram is available via omnichannel communication platforms and can be operated together with other channels from a central platform. Several users answer customer queries together as a team. Further advantages of the Instagram Messenger API:

  • Keeping an eye on incoming customer messages and answering them efficiently
  • Improve customer loyalty and satisfaction 
  • Scaling customer support and communication

Instagram API along the Customer Journey

Chances are high that your target group is also active on Instagram. By using the Instagram Messaging API, you can engage with your customers at all levels of the customer journey: 

  • Awareness: First customer contact via Instagram
  • Consideration: answer questions about the product and the service
  • Purchase: Support with purchase decision and help with the ordering process
  • Care: Order management and support after successful purchase

Instagram's Messenger API, for example, enables automated conversations via different entry points. Customers can communicate with brands via their Instagram profile or Stories. Companies can now have face-to-face conversations with shoppers who leave questions and comments on brands' posts.

Reading tip 📣

Here's a reading tip from us: Instagram for businesses - tips for communication

Instagram Messenger API with Superchat

Take your online presence to the next level and use the Instagram API with Superchat. Superchat's messaging platform lets you bundle the most important communication channels in one place: Instagram, WhatsApp Business, Facebook Messenger, Telegram, Webchat, Email and SMS.

All functions of Superchat at a glance

  • All communication channels in one inbox
  • WhatsApp Business 100% DSGVO compliant and with multiple users
  • Webchat widget for your website
  • Create message templates and absence notes
  • Assign incoming messages 
  • Internally add notes to conversations
  • Manage and track online reviews

Would you like to use Superchat? Do you have any questions about our product? Contact us easily and without any obligations here via WhatsApp, or write us an email at hello@superchat.de.

Instagram Messenger & API FAQs

Is an Instagram Business Account free?

plus-icon

The use of an Instagram business profile is free of charge. A private Instagram profile can be converted into a business account at no additional cost. There are costs for using the Instagram messaging API, which depend on the messaging platform provider.

How do you get the blue tick on Instagram?

plus-icon

A blue tick on Instagram helps people recognise authentic accounts of public figures, celebrities and brands. It should be noted that a blue tick does not mean that the account has access to additional business tools. To get a blue tick on Instagram, the following requirements must be met:

  • The account must be public
  • The profile must represent a real person or brand
  • There may only be one account per brand (exception: international brands)
  • Profile picture must be available and the biography must be filled in
  • It is not allowed to refer to profiles in other social networks
  • The brand must be well-known, often sought after and represented in the media

Can several people use an Instagram account at the same time?

plus-icon

Yes, theoretically, several people can use an Instagram account at the same time. There is currently no limit on Instagram.

Christina Wendt

Messaging Expert

Christina is a messaging and content expert at Superchat. Apart from communication and marketing topics, she knows the Berlin food scene inside out.

Book a demo now and get a 30-day money-back guarantee

Thank you very much our team will get back to you shortly!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Book a demo now and get a 30-day money-back guarantee

Thank you very much our team will get back to you shortly!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Kommunikation

Instagram Messenger API – Ein ausführlicher Guide für Unternehmen

Die wichtigsten Informationen auf einen Blick: Erfahren Sie, was es mit der Instagram Messaging API auf sich hat und wie Sie Instagram für die Kundenkommunikation einsetzten.

Christina Wendt - Superchat Content & Messaging Expertin

Christina Wendt

Messaging-Expertin

20. September, 2021

Instagram Messenger API - Alle Infos auf einen Blick

INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

Cautionary Language Concerning Forwad-Looking Statement

Cautionary Language Concerning Forwad-Looking Statement

Instagram ist ein wichtiger Marketing- und Kommunikationskanal für Unternehmen. Seit Juni 2021 steht die Instagram Messaging API von Instagram externen Entwicklern und Entwicklerinnen zur Verfügung. Dadurch wird die Kundenkommunikation über Instagram Direct Messages noch professioneller und Unternehmen stehen neue Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung.

Was ist die Instagram API? Wie erhalten Sie Zugang? Warum sollten Unternehmen Instagram über die API nutzen? Hier finden Sie die wichtigsten Informationen über die Messaging API von Instagram.

Die wichtigsten Fakten zu Instagram

Instagram ist ein beliebtes soziales Netzwerk zum Teilen von Fotos und Videos. Die App wurde 2010 von Kevin Systrom und Mike Krieger entwickelt. Nur zwei Jahre später wurde das Unternehmen von Facebook für rund eine Milliarde Dollar gekauft. Im Laufe der Jahre wurde das Social Network immer weiterentwickelt und auch die Nutzerzahlen steigen stetig. Die Wichtigkeit von Instagram wird durch folgende Zahlen belegt:

  • Mehr als eine Milliarde aktive monatliche Instagram Nutzer weltweit
  • Über 500 Millionen Menschen weltweit nutzen Instagram Stories am Tag
  • Mindestens 200 Millionen Unternehmen nutzen Instagram als Marketingkanal

Die Nutzerzahlen verdeutlichen, dass Instagram für eine Vielzahl von Unternehmen ein wichtiger Marketing- und Kommunikationskanal ist. Die Chance ist groß, dass die eigene Zielgruppe auch auf Instagram aktiv ist. Generation Y und Z, also Verbraucher im Alter zwischen 18 und 34, machen mehr als 60 % der Instagram-User aus. 

Instagram spielt eine der Hauptrollen bei dem Thema Conversational Commerce. Conversational Commerce bildet eine Brücke zwischen Kundensupport und Verkauf: Über digitale Kommunikationskanäle werden Verbraucher über die gesamte Kundenreise hinweg begleitet, mit dem erfolgreichen Kaufabschluss als Ziel. Instagram dient nicht nur der Suche nach Inspiration.

Die Plattform ist ein Ort für Verbraucher, um direkt mit Unternehmen in Kontakt zu treten. Das macht Instagram zu einem wichtigen und attraktiven Kanal für Conversational Commerce. Über die Shopping-Funktionen können beispielsweise Artikel auf Bildern verlinkt werden, über die Kunden direkt zum Onlineshop gelangen.

Arten von Instagram Accounts

Persönliche Konten sind für Privatpersonen gedacht, ohne das Ziel damit Geld zu verdienen. Bei Instagram gibt es zwei Typen von Konten – persönliche und professionelle Konten. Bei professionelle Konten unterscheidet man zwischen Business und Creator Profilen.

Was ist Instagram Business?

Instagram Business ist eine Lösung für Unternehmen und existiert seit 2014. Der Instagram Business Account ist kostenlos und bietet mehr Funktionen als ein privates Instagram Profil. Dazu gehört ein professionelles Dashboard, welches Aufschluss über das Verhalten der Follower und User gibt. Darüber hinaus bietet Instagram Funktionen, um bezahlte Werbeanzeigen zu schalten oder einen Shop zu integrieren. 

Sollten Unternehmen Instagram nutzen?

Mit dem Potenzial, so viele Menschen zu erreichen, ist Instagram eine wertvolle Plattform, um Ihre Zielgruppe kennenzulernen, auf ihre Bedürfnisse einzugehen und sich mit ihnen zu vernetzen.

Menschen verbringen immer mehr Zeit online und in sozialen Netzwerken. Um relevant zu bleiben, müssen Unternehmen auf den Kanälen präsent sein, die von ihrer Zielgruppe genutzt werden. Bei der großen und diversen Anzahl an Nutzern stehen die Chancen gut, dass auch Ihre Zielgruppe auf Instagram aktiv ist. 

Der Vorteil einer von Instagram Business liegt nicht nur in der Anzahl der Menschen, die Sie erreichen können. Unternehmensprofile bieten Zugang zu einer Reihe von professionellen Tools und Funktionen, die für private Konten nicht zugänglich sind.

Lesetipp 📣

Hier ein Lesetipp von uns: Instagram für Unternehmen: 10 Tipps für KMUs

Wie erhält man einen Instagram Business Account? 

Ein Instagram Business Account ist kostenlos und kann über die Profileinstellungen eingerichtet werden. Über die Einstellungen kann ein privates Instagram Konto mit nur wenigen Klicks in ein Unternehmensprofil umgewandelt werden. Dort haben Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, die Branche des Unternehmens auszuwählen und weitere Informationen wie Kontaktdaten hinzuzufügen. 

Was ist die Instagram API?

Die Instagram API für Messaging ist seit Juni 2021 für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Sie gibt Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, die Kommunikation mit Kunden noch besser und persönlicher zu gestalten.

Über die API kann Instagram in Messaging Plattformen wie Superchat integriert werden. Man muss also nicht extra die Instagram App öffnen, um Nachrichten zu beantworten. Unternehmen können Instagram zusammen mit anderen Kommunikationskanälen über eine zentrale Plattform verwalten.

Lesetipp 📣

Hier ein Lesetipp von uns: Was ist die Instagram Messaging API?

Wer kann die Messaging Instagram API nutzen? 

Alle Unternehmen können die Messenger API für Instagram nutzen. Anfangs konnte die Instagram API nur für Accounts zwischen 10.000 und 100.000 Followern genutzt werden. Diese Begrenzung wurde im August 2021 aufgehoben. Einzige Voraussetzung für die Nutzung der Messenger API ist ein Instagram Business Account. 

Wie bekommt man Zugang zur Instagram API?

Die Messaging API ist über Drittanbieter zugänglich. Über Omnichannel Kommunikationsplattformen wie Superchat erhalten Firmen Zugriff auf die Instagram API. Der Vorteil ist, dass Sie mehrere Kommunikationskanäle an einem Ort bündeln können. Neben Instagram können weitere Messenger, wie beispielsweise WhatsApp Business oder Facebook Messenger, von einer Plattform aus verwaltet werden. 

Funktionen & Vorteile der Instagram Messaging API

Mit der Instagram API stehen Unternehmen weitere Optionen für die Kommunikation mit Kundinnen und Kunden zur Verfügung. Die Instagram API ermöglicht es Unternehmen, die Customer Journey zu verbessern.

Um noch schneller auf Fragen zu antworten oder auf wiederkehrende Fragen zu reagieren, können Chat-Bausteine oder Vorlagen genutzt werden. Häufige Verwendungszwecke:

  • Senden und Empfangen von Text, Medien, Stories, etc
  • Abrufen des Gesprächsverlaufs aus dem Instagram Posteingang
  • Auf öffentliche Kommentare mit Chatnachrichten reagieren

Vorteile der Messaging API von Instagram

Der größte Vorteil ist, dass Unternehmen den Kanal nicht mehr extra betreuen müssen. Das ist eine deutliche Entlastung für Mitarbeitende. Durch die Messaging API ist Instagram über Omnichannel Kommunikationsplattformen verfügbar und kann zusammen mit anderen Kanälen von einer zentralen Plattform aus bedient werden. Mehrere Nutzer beantworten zusammen im Team Kundenanfragen. Weitere Vorteile der Instagram Messenger API:

  • Eingehende Kundennachrichten im Blick behalten und effizient beantworten
  • Kundenbindung und Kundenzufriedenheit verbessern 
  • Skalierung des Kundensupports und der Kommunikation

Instagram API entlang der Customer Journey

Die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist hoch, dass auch Ihre Zielgruppe auf Instagram aktiv ist. Mit der Nutzung der Instagram Messaging API können Sie auf allen Ebenen der Customer Journey mit Ihrer Kundschaft in Kontakt treten: 

  • Awareness: Erster Kundenkontakt über Instagram
  • Consideration: Fragen zum Produkt und dem Service beantworten
  • Purchase: Unterstützung bei der Kaufentscheidung und Hilfe beim Bestellvorgang
  • Care: Auftragsverwaltung und Unterstützung nach dem erfolgreichen Kauf

Die Instagram API ermöglicht Konversationen über verschiedene Einstiegspunkte. Auf der einen Seite können Kundinnen und Kunden über das Instagram Profil oder Stories mit Marken in Kontakt treten. Auf der anderen Seite können Firmen jetzt persönliche Gespräche mit Kunden führen, die Fragen und Kommentare zu einem bestimmten Post hinterlassen haben.

Lesetipp 📣

Hier ein Lesetipp von uns: Instagram für Unternehmen - Tipps für die Kommunikation

Instagram Messenger API mit Superchat

Bringen Sie Ihre Onlinepräsenz auf das nächste Level und nutzen Sie die Instagram API mit Superchat. Über die Messaging-Plattform von Superchat bündeln Sie die wichtigsten Kommunikationskanäle an einem Ort: Instagram, WhatsApp Business, Facebook Messenger, Telegram, Webchat, E-Mail und SMS.

Alle Funktionen von Superchat im Überblick

  • Alle Kommunikationskanäle in einem Posteingang
  • WhatsApp Business 100 % DSGVO-konform und mit mehreren Usern
  • Webchat Widget für Ihre Website
  • Nachrichtenvorlagen und Abwesenheitsnotizen erstellen
  • Eingehende Nachrichten zuweisen 
  • Intern Notizen zu Konversationen hinzufügen
  • Verwalten und Nachverfolgen von Online-Bewertungen

Möchten Sie Superchat nutzen? Haben Sie Fragen zu unserem Produkt? Kontaktieren Sie uns ganz einfach und unverbindlich hier via WhatsApp, oder schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail unter hello@superchat.de. 

Instagram API & Messenger FAQs

Ist ein Instagram Business Account kostenlos?

plus-icon

Die Nutzung eines Instagram Unternehmensprofils ist kostenlos. Ein privates Instagram Profil kann ohne zusätzliche Kosten in ein Business Konto umgewandelt werden. Für die Nutzung der Instagram Messaging API fallen Kosten an, die vom Anbieter der Messaging-Plattform abhängen.

Wie bekommt man den blauen Haken bei Instagram?

plus-icon

Ein blauer Haken bei Instagram hilft Menschen, authentische Konten von Persönlichkeiten des öffentlichen Lebens, Prominenten und Marken zu erkennen. Zu beachten ist, dass ein blauer Haken nicht bedeutet, dass das Konto Zugang zu zusätzlichen Business-Tools hat. Um einen blauen Haken bei Instagram zu erhalten, müssen folgende Anforderungen erfüllt werden:

  • Der Account muss öffentlich sein
  • Das Profil muss eine reale Person oder Marke repräsentieren
  • Es darf nur einen Account pro Marke geben (Ausnahme: internationalen Marken)
  • Profilbild muss vorhanden und die Biographie ausgefüllt sein
  • Es darf nicht auf Profile in anderen sozialen Netzwerken verwiesen werden
  • Die Marke muss bekannt, oft gesucht und in den Medien vertreten sein

Können mehrere Personen gleichzeitig einen Instagram Account nutzen?

plus-icon

Ja, theoretisch können mehrere Personen gleichzeitig einen Instagram Account nutzen. Aktuell gibt es keine Begrenzung von Instagram.

Christina Wendt - Superchat Content & Messaging Expertin

Christina Wendt

Messaging Expertin

Christina ist Messaging und Content Expertin bei Superchat. Abgesehen von Kommunikations- und Marketingthemen kennt sie sich bestens in der Berliner Food-Szene aus.

Jetzt Demo buchen und eine 30 Tage Geld-zurück-Garantie erhalten

Vielen Dank unser Team wird sich in Kürze bei Ihnen melden!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Jetzt Demo buchen und eine 30 Tage Geld-zurück-Garantie erhalten

Vielen Dank unser Team wird sich in Kürze bei Ihnen melden!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.